Example of a Special Situation



Let's say that I send you a copy of the
Keyword Report that outlines the keyword "nature." I point out that "nature" is searched for about 150,000 times per month on Overture. Google shows only seven AdWords campaigns using the keyword "nature." What could you do with that information?

A large percentage of people interested in nature probably have posters or photographic prints on their wall picturing subjects related to nature. So you could create a high quality line of framed nature prints. Or look for an existing merchant who would allow you to sell high quality prints as an affiliate. But the typical pay per click advice would never consider using the keyword "nature." Not relevant enough.

If you use your keyword research software to check on the term "nature photography," you find that it is only searched for about 7,000 times per month on Overture. It is used in about sixteen AdWords campaigns, with maximum bids well over $1. The more precise multi-word related phrases get even fewer searches.

The simpler keyword "nature" is slightly less relevant, but it is used as a search term on Yahoo about twenty times as often as "nature photography"! Since Google uses at least eight ads per page, you can advertise your framed nature photography using the keyword "nature" and get your ad on the first page with a minimum bid.

So let's look at the financials. To simplify the comparisons, let's say you net $10 on every sale of a framed print. If your average cost per click for "nature photography" is $1, you must sell a framed print to at least one visitor out of every ten just to break even. That's a conversion rate of 10% - a figure you don't see very often. On the other hand, if your average cost per click for the keyword "nature" is ten cents, you only need to sell a framed print to one visitor out of every 100 to break even. That's a much more reasonable conversion rate of 1%. While your "click through" rate for the less relevant term "nature" will probably be lower than for the highly relevant "nature photography," the vastly greater number of searches on "nature" will result in many more clicks coming from "nature" than from "nature photography."

Which scenario do you think is more likely to produce a viable business?

This example also demonstrates that the information in the
Keyword Report is not for everyone. If you have already developed your own product or service, the chances are pretty slim that you will discover a special situation among the keywords associated with that product. But Internet marketers are often advised to find out what the public wants and give it to them. The discovery of the special situations in the Keyword Report is a form of market research. The very existence of the situation is an indication of a sizable untapped market. You need only find the perfect product or service to offer to that market!

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